Pharmacy Technician Certification in Nevada

Applicants for pharmacy technician certification of registration in Nevada need to be at least 18 years old, have a high school diploma or G.E.D. and have a record free of felony and/or drug-related convictions.

Additionally, applicants must meet at least one of the following criteria:

– Hold a license or registration as a pharmaceutical technician from another state;

– Successfully completed at least 1,500 hours as a registered pharmaceutical technician-in-training in Nevada;

– Graduated from a school accredited by the American Society of Healthsystem Pharmacists (ASHP) along with completing at least 350 hours as a registered pharmaceutical technician-in-training in Nevada;

– Graduated from an out-of-state school that is not ASHP accredited and hold certification from the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB).

While Nevada does not require national certification, working toward certification as part of training can help pharmacy technicians gain a deeper understanding of industry standards and practices as well as improve professional opportunities such as job advancement and higher salaries.

 

Nevada State Board of Pharmacy

431 West Plumb Lane

Reno, NV 89509

Phone: 775/850-1440

Fax: 775/850-1444

Web site: Nevada Board of Pharmacy