Pharmacy Technician Certification in Alaska

The state of Alaska does not require certification for pharmacy technicians however the ExCPT certification is recognized. Applicants need to be 18 years of age or older, have completed a high school education or its equivalent, demonstrate fluency in the English language (both spoken and written) and may not have committed a felony within five years prior to the application.

While pharmacy technician certification isn’t required in Alaska applicants must submit an affidavit verifying he has read the state’s statutes and another signed by the pharmacist in charge stating he has completed training in accordance with Alaska state regulations. A pharmacy technician certification program can be incorporated into on-the-job training.

The initial application for Alaska pharmacy technicians costs $100 and must be renewed every two years at a cost of $100. Technician must complete at least 10 hours of pharmacy board-approved continuing education during each renewal periord.

 

For more information:

Alaska Board of Pharmacy
PO Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
Phone: 907/465-2589
Web site: Alaska Board of Pharmacy